Strawberry Mint Water

photo 1 (1)

So one of the links I wanted to eat last week was this little post from Food52 about infusing water with the cut off tops of strawberries. I loved the idea of finding a use for something that is typically discarded, and it was kind of a no lose situation. The worst that could happen is that it would taste gross and I’d be throwing out something I was going to throw out anyway, and wasting a little water.

I threw the (well cleaned!) strawberry tops into a half gallon glass jar as I was prepping for our lunches this week. I also had some leftover mint on hand, so I put a small handful of that in as well. Then I filled the jar to the brim with filtered water and stuck it in the fridge for a few hours.

Once I thought it had been in there long enough, I poured some through a fine mesh sieve into a glass because I didn’t want any leaves or strawberry seeds in the water.

This is seriously so delicious that I can’t believe I haven’t been doing it for years. Think of all the wasted strawberry tops! The mint added a really nice touch too, so I would really recommend adding some if you have any. I bet basil would also be delicious.

Am I the only one who didn’t realize how amazing infused waters are?

Strawberry Mint Water

  • Cleaned strawberry tops
  • Water
  • Mint (optional, but highly suggested)

Simply combine all of the above into a container place in the fridge for at least 2 hours; longer if possible.  The water will turn a lovely shade of pale pink after a while, which would be so pretty for a party.

Strain and serve.

I’ve successfully added more water quite a few times, but probably 2 days would be the longest I’d go before I straining out the strawberries. They start to lose their color and flavor over time.

9 thoughts on “Strawberry Mint Water

  1. Pat S says:

    I’ve been freezing strawberry tops and throwing them into my smoothies for awhile but this looks like another fun way to use them.

Leave a Reply

