Recipe and Cookbook Roundup

This week's sourdough loaf
This week’s sourdough loaf

Hello there! Still alive and cooking constantly, as ever. I committed to NaNoWriMo this year, which basically means I’ve committed to writing a 50,000 word novel in the month of November. NO PRESSURE. Needless to say, that’s going to be taking a lot of my focus and time this month. I still thought I’d stop buy and post some of the recipes and cookbooks we’ve been obsessed with lately, because sharing food joy is the best.

Happy fall, and may we all enjoy cooler weather soon!

  • Salted brown butter crispy treats– We went to a Halloween party last week and had to bring a snack, so I went old school, with a slightly grown up twist. The only thing I did that the recipe doesn’t call for was drizzle a little melted semisweet chocolate over the top of the bars before cutting them. People went crazy.
  • Tartine Bread– I can finally make excellent loaves of sourdough bread at home, and it’s all thanks to this book. I cheated a little and bought a sourdough starter from Cultures for Health, but that was two months ago and it’s still going strong. I’ve only had one loaf completely fail and luckily it was relatively early on in the process. Pretty sure I added WAY too much water by accident, because when I turned the dough out onto the counter, it was a giant oozing blob. Live and learn. The process definitely takes time, but I think it’s totally worth it. I’ve been messing around with the timing on the basic country loaf and I’ve found that a 2 day process, with a long overnight rise in the fridge in the middle, results in a loaf that produces exactly what we want in terms of flavor and texture. Also, the recipes for what to do with stale bread are all excellent.
  • Small Victories– I kept hearing about this cookbook on various food blogs, so I requested a copy from the library. I wound up buying my own copy before I even had to return the book. IT’S THAT GOOD. Possibly my favorite cookbook ever, in terms of accessibility and everyday recipes. We’ve made so many things from it already and each one has been perfect. I also really love all the ways she suggests you can modify the recipes. Seriously though, buy it. Make her brisket. Weep for joy.
  • Marinated Lentil Salad– We’ve been enjoying this for lunches a lot recently. I make a double batch of it and combine it with a half batch of Alton Brown’s hummus on the side, as well as cucumber slices and pita chips. Only gets better the longer it marinates.

Leave a comment