Post 100

Ah, the infamous 100. It’s kind of crazy to think that I’ve managed to come up with 100 posts, especially considering how long I was working a New York City full time job + commute and trying to post at least twice a week. Since last May, we’ve left New York for Cincinnati, I’ve upgraded my phone, which is relevant because I take all of my photos on it (should really get a camera one of these days…), I have a cute sunny house now instead of a good apartment with mediocre light, an oddly small refrigerator and NO DISHWASHER, and I’m able to dream about having an herb garden again this year, among other things. I’ve branched out into working with yeast, and made some intensive asian dishes that left me with a massive amount of dishes and a lot of pride.

I thought it’d be fun today to check out my 5 most popular posts out of the last 100:

5) Loco Moco Remix

photo (25)

This isn’t a traditional loco moco, which is rice, hamburger patties, and fried eggs drenched in gravy. While that dish is a Hawaiian classic for many reasons, it’s also not something you can eat without wanting to take a nap immediately afterwards. This version is a lot lighter, with coconut rice, ground pork, and a spicy soy reduction. We pretty much lick our bowls clean with this one.

4) Chicken Noodle “We Won’t Be Sick For Christmas” Soup

IMG_2020

I grew up on Campbell’s chicken noodle soup, which is why I’ve never been a huge fan. When Josh started to get sick the week before Christmas, I decided to make my own version, and now I’m in love. This soup is so delicate and fragrant due to the scallions, cilantro, ginger and star anise, plus it’s full of all of the nutrients you need when you’re feeling crummy. It’s also really easy, because if you’re the one sick, you don’t want to do much more than dump a bunch of ingredients in a crockpot so you can go watch bad movies on the couch.

3) Roasted Vegetable and Hummus Mix It Up Salad

photo-3 copy 7

I’ve been making this salad for years now and it’s still one of our favorites (and might be on next week’s meal plan due to this reminder). It’s extremely adaptable, healthy, filling, and I love how each bite can taste so different depending on what combination of ingredients you get on your fork. Ugh, now I’m craving it.

2) Strawberry Mint Water

photo 1 (1)

I love that the second most popular recipe isn’t even really a recipe, and I almost didn’t even post it. Who knew that leftover strawberry tops and mint leaves could make water so delicious, though?! We now love to throw our fruit scraps into a jar of filtered water, especially in the summer. Pineapple core with a few apple slices is also a winner.

1) Salty Honey Pie

IMG_1793

This Joy the Baker pie was so good… there are hardly words, which is probably why it was so popular! It was also a good reminder that I really need to make myself attempt pie crust. I don’t know what my mental block is about it, but sometime (in the next month?!) it WILL happen. It helps that Josh bought me Joy’s new book, Homemade Decadence, for Christmas and there are a lot of tips for pie crust. Victory will be mine.

I hope that my next 100 posts include me stretching my culinary skills more, mastering pie crust, cooking a little more often from my cookbook collection, and attempting at least a few more crazy asian dishes.

Shanghai soup dumplings, I’ve got my eye on you…

3 thoughts on “Post 100

  1. The strawberry and mint water looks really interesting. Have you tried making fruit scrap vinegar? Sorry if my search didn’t turn up the relevant post!

    And congrats on 100! Gonna be a while until I get there.

    Like

      1. Sounds great! Would love to see an update whenever that happens. If you are looking for a reference, Sandor Ellix Katz’s fruit scrap vinegar recipe is posted everywhere.

        Like

Leave a Reply

