Meal Plan: June 8 – June 14

Every week we make a meal plan for the week ahead. The plan accounts for 5 breakfasts, 4 lunches, 4 snacks, and 5 dinners for the two of us. Lunch ideas are typically a double batch of whatever the recipe calls for. I make the lunches and do other various prep work on Sunday. Nearly all items are purchased from either our local farmers market or Whole Foods. We are currently living in New York City, so things are more expensive than average.

photo copy 9
Strawberries are finally here!

June 8 through June 14-

Strawberries are in season (finally!), and asparagus is still here… want to take advantage of all of these things.

Also, two recipes with yeast! I WILL CONQUER! I also tried to make a wild sourdough starter last week, but no dice. I’ll have to poke around and see what I might do differently next time.

Total cost: $125

Average cost per meal per person, with snacks tucked into the mix: $4.46

Breakfast

Snack

Lunch

Dinner

  • Fried rice with whatever leftovers we have on hand
  • Trader Joe’s meal (still cleaning out the freezer)

4 thoughts on “Meal Plan: June 8 – June 14

  1. Hi Allyn, I’m moving to NYC for grad school, and while it’s disheartening to hear that I’ll be spending more on groceries, I love these meal plan posts (terrible cook here, so I’m actively looking for pointers). Just wanted to let you know that I found these helpful

    Like

    1. Thanks, Brittney!
      Don’t feel too overwhelmed! Certain things brought a bit of sticker shock, but we’ve found some better options. Also, the bulk bins at Whole Foods will become your best friend. Seriously. I also recommend Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution cookbook. Full of a lot of simple meals. It’s one of our favorites.
      Welcome (soon!) to New York!

      Like

  2. These look great Allyn! My meal planning is usually 3-5 meals at home and I try to cook my husband breakfast once a week! Snacks aren’t as planned but I just made some trail mix for us! Thanks for sharing your meal planning!!

    Like

    1. You’re welcome! I always find it interesting to see how many planned meals work for each family. I try to have one of ours be a freezer/pantry meal, just in case it doesn’t get cooked. Some weeks we’re good, some weeks we order a lot of delivery.

      Like

Leave a comment