Meal Plan: August 16-August 22

Every week we make a meal plan for the week ahead. The plan accounts for 5 breakfasts, 4 lunches (plus fruit or vegetables), 4 snacks, and 5 dinners each for the two of us. Lunches are typically a double batch of whatever the recipe calls for. We make the lunches and do other prep work on Sunday. Nearly all items are purchased from either our local farmers market or Whole Foods. We live in Cincinnati, OH.

IMG_1495

August 16-August 22

In my quest to conquer my fear of working with flour (outside of the usual cakes/brownies), I can now check off another category, the galette. The dough was easy and delicious, and the perfect way to showcase August’s heirloom tomatoes. I had even contemplated making pasta this week, but it turns out that the pasta machines from Josh’s grandmother don’t fit on our counters, so we’ll see what happens. Now I’m thinking about modifying the galette dough instead to make a sweet version with some of the peaches in my freezer… again, we’ll see what happens. Josh is going to try to recreate a couple of dishes we ate from Poi Dog when in Philadelphia a couple of weeks ago, so it’ll be a week of experiments!

Breakfast

Lunch

Snack

Dinner

2 thoughts on “Meal Plan: August 16-August 22

  1. That galette looks so good. I’ve been trying to find a recipe only for a few days for a tomato tart, but none seem to convince me! I guess I secretly also have a fear of crusts and such…
    We have so many tomatoes in our garden. I made tomato jam yesterday for the first time and it came out really good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

