Meal Plan: July 12-July 18

Every week we make a meal plan for the week ahead. The plan accounts for 5 breakfasts, 4 lunches (plus fruit or vegetables), 4 snacks, and 5 dinners each for the two of us. Lunches are typically a double batch of whatever the recipe calls for. We make the lunches and do other prep work on Sunday. Nearly all items are purchased from either our local farmers market or Whole Foods. We live in Cincinnati, OH.

Slight humidity outside I'd say
Slight humidity outside I’d say

July 12-July 18

Fun fact: Cincinnati has an average 81 days with less than 30% cloud coverage per year. 81 sunny days out of 365. All of the cities I’ve lived in before had over 100, and I can definitely see and feel the difference. This summer has been the coolest I have ever experienced, and it seems that at least half of every week has contained pouring rain and days of threatening clouds.

Dude, isn’t the midwest supposed to be tons of sunshine for all of the crops? I’m confused. I don’t dislike it as much as I would have thought, but it’s definitely taking some getting used to.

All of this is an elaborate way to explain why I’m still making things like chili in July. Plus, both the chili and the curry make a lot of leftovers, which means less cooking, which means fewer dishes.

Sometimes fewer dishes wins.

Also, my peach thyme sorbet has made it to round 1 of Food52’s contest for the best non-dairy frozen dessert! You can sign up to be a tester here.

Breakfast

Snack

Lunch

Dinner

Leave a Reply

