Roi Choi’s Furikake Kettle Corn

IMG_0236

Hey, look! I cooked! And photographed it! Baby steps, right?!

Last weekend, we got invited to a baby shower for some new friends, which was awesome. Not so awesome? I didn’t know there was an email chain regarding food to bring until late Saturday night. The shower was Sunday at 1.

Blergh.

Josh and I were brainstorming Sunday morning, and while his offer to make his amazing guacamole was tempting, I was really afraid that we wouldn’t be able to find enough good avocados, since all the ones I find lately need a few days to ripen, and we had… 3 hours. I started scrolling through a few of my favorite websites and then I saw this, and remembered that I’ve been wanting to make it ever since Joy introduced it.

Furikake Kettle Corn.

I took this to the shower and made a bunch of strangers love me, which is really the point of bringing food to an event where you hardly know anyone. Sweet, salty, crunchy, just enough chew… this might be my new favorite party snack of all time. Homemade kettle corn, Corn Pops cereal, dried pineapple, crumbled bacon, spices, furikake, brown butter, and chives. It’s a good thing that it’s only delicious the day you make it, otherwise I’d be making it in bulk.

Head over to Joy’s blog for the recipe.

2 thoughts on “Roi Choi’s Furikake Kettle Corn

Leave a Reply

