Morning Glory Oats

IMG_1998

When I was a freshman in college, one of my favorite things to treat myself to on my way to class was a caramel macchiato and a cranberry orange muffin. Seriously: day made. When I saw the recipe for this morning glory oatmeal over at Joy the Baker, I immediately started drooling because of how similar (yet much healthier) I knew it would be to my beloved muffin of times past.

I’m going to be perfectly honest here: you probably won’t be seeing this on our meal plan very frequently/if ever again, because Josh did NOT like it. I was actually surprised he was willing to try them, because they fall into a category of flavors that he’s generally not a fan of, the fruitcake like or slightly bitter or remotely marmalade type of flavors. I so appreciate that he tried them, but this recipe is definitely going into the “meals I make when Josh is out of town for a few days” category. Oh well. We live and learn.

Aside: One of the things I’ve really enjoyed learning is what items I immediately want to restock my fridge with after I move to a new home. After moving 11 times in the past 11 years, some local moves, some not local at all, it’s been an adventure of its own to see how my tastes have changed, as well as my cooking habits. Like the vast quantity of asian ingredients that are immediately purchased now, and my shame that I haven’t already bought myself some marmalade for toast.

These oats (should you like the flavors) are the perfect “make ahead and eat through the week” breakfast. I made a batch yesterday afternoon, which made the house smell heavenly, and this morning I just had to roll out of bed and reheat a bowl for a lovely homemade breakfast. Win.

Morning Glory Oats (adapted from this recipe)

  • 1 c. steel cut oats
  • 2 Tbsp butter or coconut oil
  • 3 c. water
  • 1 c. milk or homemade coconut milk, plus extra for serving
  • 1/4 c. shredded coconut
  • 1 c. grated carrots (1 large carrot)
  • 1/2 c. currants/dried cranberries/raisins, whatever you’d like
  • 3/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg
  • 3 Tbsp. light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 teaspoons grated orange zest

In a medium saucepan, combine the water and milk and heat on high.

While the water/milk mixture is heating up, add the butter (or coconut oil) to a small pan over medium high. Once the butter has melted and started to sizzle a little, add the oats, stirring well to coat. Continue to cook, stirring frequently, until the oats are golden and smell nutty. Remove from heat.

Once the water/milk mixture is gently boiling, add the oats, carrot, dried fruit, shredded coconut, spices, sugar, vanilla and salt and stir well to combine. Return this mixture to a boil, then immediately turn the heat to low and partially cover. Cook for about 25 minutes, until the oats are soft and chewy and the mixture has become much thicker, stirring frequently. Remove from heat and stir in the orange zest, then let rest for about 5 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

