Oatmeal Sandwich Bread

photo 3 (1)
Before
afterlight (1)
After

So far in my yeast challenge, I’ve successfully made both pizza and soft pretzels. I’ve tried and failed to make a wild sourdough starter and buttery buns (which were delicious, but flat in a way that no one wants buns to be. I think my kitchen was too hot). I figured that I should make my first loaf of bread to eat as breakfast this week. I mean, if there was ever a classic yeast recipe, it’s bread.

It might come as a shock to… no one? that there are countless bread recipes. I started to poke around to find one that wouldn’t be overly complicated and be great for toast. Bread for toasting requires a certain density. I don’t want the bread to fall apart when I’m buttering it or adding copious amounts of orange marmalade (me) or strawberry jam (Josh). There is a science to this, people.

This Oatmeal Sandwich Bread from Orangette is exactly what I wanted. The molasses gives it a complex sweetness and a darker color. The loaf is huge and perfect toasted under the broiler, since it was way to big to fit into our toaster.

I wound up using AP flour as opposed to whole wheat, and I did all of my kneading by hand since our mixer is in storage back in TN, but I highly, highly recommend this recipe, and I look forward to eating it again tomorrow morning.

In the meantime, today is my birthday and the beginning of my last year in my twenties, so I’m off to celebrate! Maybe I’ll sneak in an extra piece of toast.

11 thoughts on “Oatmeal Sandwich Bread

  1. Happy birthday Allyn! I wish you were eating this bread with Earl Gray tea, and swinging your legs under MY kitchen chair today.

    Like

  2. I found your blog via your recent comment on Smitten Kitchen’s roasted chickpea/carrot salad. Like you, I’m also a fan of Orangette’s recipes, and you’ve encouraged me to make a loaf of this beautiful bread.

    But I had to leave a response here, because we have something much more important in common than an interest in good food and recipes. Best wishes on your birthday and every day, from another girl named Allyn.

    Like

  3. Happy Birthday Allyn!! Hope you had a great time!! 🙂

    I love the look of this bread. Also, I’ve never heard of a yeast challenge, but it sounds lovely! Yeast is temperamental stuff, and certainly is worth taking on the challenges and potential mess-ups if you get mastery in the end 🙂

    The bread looks yummy 🙂 Thanks for sharing it! I bet it makes delicious toast!

    Like

Leave a Reply

