Raw Zucchini Bread Bites

photo (19)

Once upon a time, I ate Larabars pretty much every day. If you haven’t had one before, it’s basically a blend of nuts, dates, and various other dried fruits and spices. They come in flavors like cherry pie and carrot cake, and are a generally healthy, tasty and easy snack/breakfast.

The main problem (besides the cost)? They all have nuts, which means Josh can’t eat any of them. So, so sad.

I thought about making my own, to cut down on the cost, but since Josh couldn’t eat them even if I made a good facsimile, it just didn’t seem to be worth the effort, so I gradually just stopped eating them all together.

Over the years, I’ve become a lot more familiar with nut substitutes, so when I saw this recipe for a raw zucchini bread truffles, I thought, duh, I should see if I can make these work for us.

They might not be the prettiest guys in the world, but they’re so healthy, easy, and┬átasty that I plan on making them (and all the variations I keep dreaming up in my mind) over and over again.

Raw Zucchini Bread Bites (recipe inspired by this Nutrition Stripped recipe)

Makes about 20 bites

  • 1 cup raw sprouted pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup raw sprouted sunflower seeds
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 generous cup raw shredded zucchini
  • 2 tbsp melted coconut oil
  • 1/2 inch fresh ginger, grated
  • 1 1/2 cup pitted dates
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg (I prefer freshly grated)
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • Pinch of ground cloves

Put the pumpkin and sunflower seeds in a food processor and pulse a few times, just to start breaking them up a little. Add the rest of the ingredients and blend until they start to form a pretty solid mass.

Roll with your hands into balls about 1 inch in diameter, and place on a cutting board/sheet pan. Once you have them all formed, place in the freezer for about an hour to get them nice and firm, and then keep them in an air tight container in either your fridge or freezer. I keep ours in the freezer, and they’re perfectly thawed in just a short time spent in our lunch bags.

 

4 thoughts on “Raw Zucchini Bread Bites

    1. We’ve been eating 2 each for a midmorning snack, but since it’s a health food, I wouldn’t judge if you eat more in the 5-10 range. Gotta prepare yourself for crazy yoga bending, right?

Leave a Reply

