Double Chocolate Banana Bread

afterlight (3)

I told Josh last weekend to choose a random special recipe that he’d like me to make as a treat. I was really curious to know what it would be. A slow simmered short rib meal? A big vanilla cake? I was open to anything. When he told me he wanted this double chocolate banana bread, I was thrilled. I mean, I’m still not feeling 100%, and it doesn’t get much easier than a one bowl, no yeast bread. Now I’m sooooo glad that he requested this, because dang, this bread is delicious. So delicious that I have a feeling that it will be a new favorite in our rotation of snacks, and I’m totally fine with that. I mean, it has fruit, so it’s totally a health food, right?

Fun fact: If you don’t have super ripe bananas, you can place whole, unpeeled bananas on a baking sheet and roast at 300 degrees for 1 hour. This will soften and sweeten the bananas to the perfect flavor and consistency. Yay, science!

Double Chocolate Banana Bread (recipe from Smitten Kitchen)

  • 3 medium-to-large very ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar (I used light because that’s what I had, but dark would be just fine)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp table salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup  all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 c cocoa powder
  • 1 c semisweet or bittersweet chocolate chunks or chips (I used semisweet chips)

Heat your oven to 350°F. Butter a 9×5-inch loaf pan.

Mash bananas in the bottom of a large bowl. Whisk in melted butter, then brown sugar, egg, and vanilla. Place baking soda, salt, cinnamon, flour and cocoa powder in a sifter or fine-mesh strainer and sift over wet ingredients. Stir dry and wet ingredients with a spoon until just combined. Stir in chocolate chunks or chips.

Pour into prepared pan and bake 55 to 65 minutes, until a tester or toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out batter-free.  Cool in pan for 10 to 15 minutes, then run a knife around the edge and invert it out onto a cooling rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Possibly hide from your coworkers while eating it. Too good to share.

One thought on “Double Chocolate Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

